The Maggie D'arcy Series

IMG_2971.JPG

The Drowning Sea

For the first time in her adult life, former Long Island homicide detective Maggie D’arcy is unemployed. No cases to focus on, no leads to investigate, just a whole summer on a remote West Cork peninsula with her teenage daughter Lilly and her boyfriend, Conor and his son. The plan is to prepare Lilly for a move to Ireland. But their calm vacation takes a dangerous turn when human remains wash up below the steep cliffs of Ross Head.

When construction worker Lukas Adamik disappeared months ago, everyone assumed he had gone home to Poland. Now that his body has been found, the guards, including Maggie's friends Roly Byrne and Katya Grzeskiewicz, seem to think he threw himself from the cliffs. But as Maggie gets to know the residents of the nearby village and learns about the history of the peninsula and its abandoned Anglo Irish manor house, once home to a famous Irish painter who died under mysterious circumstances, she starts to think there's something else going on. Something deadly. And when Lilly starts dating one of the dead man's friends, Maggie grows worried about her daughter being so close to another investigation and about what the investigation will uncover.

Old secrets, hidden relationships, crime, and village politics are woven throughout this small seaside community, and as the summer progresses, Maggie is pulled deeper into the web of lies, further from those she loves, and closer to the truth.

 

Distant Grave revise 2.jpg

A Distant Grave

In the follow-up to the critically acclaimed THE MOUNTAINS WILD, Detective Maggie D'arcy tackles another intricate case that bridges Long Island and Ireland.

Long Island homicide detective Maggie D'arcy and her teenage daughter, Lilly, are still recovering from the events of last fall when a strange new case demands Maggie's attention. The body of an unidentified Irish national turns up in a wealthy Long Island beach community and with little to go on but the scars on his back, Maggie once again teams up with Garda detectives in Ireland to find out who the man was and what he was doing on Long Island. The strands of the mystery take Maggie to a quiet village in rural County Clare that's full of secrets and introduce her to the world of humanitarian aid workers half a world away. And as she gets closer to the truth about the murder, what she learns leads her back to her home turf and into range of a dangerous and determined killer who will do anything to keep the victim's story hidden forever.

With the lyrical prose, deeply drawn characters, and atmospheric setting that put THE MOUNTAINS WILD on multiple best of the year lists, Sarah Stewart Taylor delivers another gripping mystery novel about family, survival, and the meaning of home.

The Mountains Wild

In a series debut for fans of Tana French and Kate Atkinson, set in Dublin and New York, homicide detective Maggie D'arcy finally tackles the case that changed the course of her life.

Twenty-three years ago, Maggie D'arcy's family received a call from the Dublin police. Her cousin Erin has been missing for several days. Maggie herself spent weeks in Ireland, trying to track Erin's movements, working beside the police. But it was to no avail: no trace of her was ever found.

The experience inspired Maggie to become a cop. Now, back on Long Island, more than 20 years have passed. Maggie is a detective and a divorced mother of a teenager. When the Gardaí call to say that Erin's scarf has been found and another young woman has gone missing, Maggie returns to Ireland, awakening all the complicated feelings from the first trip. The despair and frustration of not knowing what happened to Erin. Her attraction to Erin's coworker, now a professor, who never fully explained their relationship. And her determination to solve the case, once and for all.

A lyrical, deeply drawn portrait of a woman - and a country - over two decades - The Mountains Wild introduces a compelling new mystery series from a mesmerizing author.

Praise for The Mountains Wild


ONE OF THE SOUTH FLORIDA SUN SENTINEL’S BEST OF 2020 MYSTERIES
ONE OF LIBRARY JOURNAL’S BEST CRIME NOVELS OF 2020
ONE OF CHRISTIAN SCIENCE MONITOR’S 10 BEST BOOKS OF JUNE
ONE OF AUNT AGATHA’S TOP TEN OF 2020
ONE OF AMAZON’S BOOKS OF THE MONTH
A MOST ANTICIPATED 2020 SUMMER READ FROM CRIMEREADS


“Razor-sharp… In addition to her intelligent characters, Taylor has sculpted The Mountains Wild as a valentine to Ireland, delving into its beauty, history and varied landscape...We may not be able to travel to Ireland right now, but Taylor has brought the country to us… a terrific series launch.” ―South Florida Sun-Sentinel

“Gripping… the book’s intriguing characters spiral through multiple timelines, plot twists, and lush Irish settings, and Maggie’s quest to finally learn the truth runs parallel to her hopes of reuniting with a lost love.” ―Christian Science Monitor

“Sarah Stewart Taylor has written a beautiful, bittersweet novel about loyalty and loss and how they can blind us to the truth.” ―Minneapolis Star Tribune

“Perfect summer reading. Maggie is a first-class protagonist―an ace investigator and appealing everywoman with smarts and heart.” ―BookPage

“Taylor skillfully switches time periods from 1993 to 2016 in this splendid, atmospheric mystery… The Irish setting is so vividly evoked that you can practically hear the dulcet brogue, taste the Guinness and smell the peat fires.” ―Open Letters Monthly

“Far beyond a simple mystery, The Mountains Wild is a gorgeous rendering on paper of Ireland in all of its beauty… this is a five star read.” ―Bookreporter

“The atmospheric, intricately plotted story builds to a stunning, unforgettable conclusion.” ―Library Journal (starred and Pick of the Month)